Skip to main content

Library Home: Social Studies Resources

Social Studies Databases (require passwords from Database Master Password List)

     

CUNY Databases for NYC Schools

 

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive 

A collection devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. 

The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2012 The Economist Historical, 1843-2012  Contains every issue since its launch in 1843 with full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys.  

The Making of the Modern World The Making of the Modern World 

Provides primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth from the period 1450-1850 and 1851-1914 in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection17th & 18th Century Burney Collection 

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent 700 bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets published mostly in London, as well as some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineEighteenth Century Collections Online 

Access the digital images of books published during the 18th Century in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

 Nineteenth Century Collections Online19th Century Collections Online 

A multi-year global digitization focused on primary source collections of content that includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

 

NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.NewsVault Delivers a cross-search of Gale historical newspapers.  Artemis Primary SourcesArtemis Primary Sources An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.

Political Cartoons

Statistic Info Websites

Law Resources